PDA

View Full Version : Please Educate The Ignorant

HamRDown
Nov 9th, 2010, 01:40 PM
:)

Okay, so relatively new to area and finally get the dirtbikes I've been promising the wife for a couple of months now.

Just picked her up a nice, used KTM SX105 this past weekend. i need to teach her to ride over the next two months while I save for mine. Yes, i know it's a red-sticker and i don't care as I am a 2-smoker guy, face it they are more fun.

Questions:

Where is a good place to take her around Bakersfield that's firm and flat to teach her? not rocky and hopefully limited traffic please. She will have gear head to toe, but I don't want to kill her just yet, i kind of like her. Starts/stops and all that jazz will obviously be the first order of business as her experience is only quads.

Red-stickers - I know most places in Cali you can only ride from Nov to April or something? Are there places that you can go all year round besides motocross tracks? Anyone have favorite places to ride? once she gets situated i will be looking for tighter trails to open desert stuff like jawbone.

Comments...thoughts...suggestions? :confused:

montibank
Nov 9th, 2010, 02:24 PM
Hungry Valley SVRA is only 45 min down the road from you. Red stickers welcome this time of year I believe (call to verify). You must have a spark arrestor and be sound compliant - they check.

Fun to ride out there and plenty of easy stuff.

What kinda KTM you gonna get? :evilgrin

HamRDown
Nov 9th, 2010, 03:54 PM
Hungry Valley SVRA is only 45 min down the road from you. Red stickers welcome this time of year I believe (call to verify). You must have a spark arrestor and be sound compliant - they check.

Fun to ride out there and plenty of easy stuff.

What kinda KTM you gonna get? :evilgrin