PDA

View Full Version : dirt riding

hipmatt
Sep 7th, 2010, 08:11 PM
So im really new to riding in the dirt on a motorcycle. I have done the quad thing for a while had a blaster but sold it. so im trying my new Kawasaki and im loving it. There are a couple things im kinda confused about. i was trying to make a turn and the bike slipped out from under me. I wasn't going that fast. i see the pros do it all easy. maybe i can get a couple tips?

FDA
Sep 7th, 2010, 09:53 PM
So im really new to riding in the dirt on a motorcycle. I have done the quad thing for a while had a blaster but sold it. so im trying my new Kawasaki and im loving it. There are a couple things im kinda confused about. i was trying to make a turn and the bike slipped out from under me. I wasn't going that fast. i see the pros do it all easy. maybe i can get a couple tips?

Its all about body weight placement. For starting out, try and keep your body weight centered over the tires. Doing this will make it the easiest for the tires to keep traction. Dirt is a totally different animal than the road, just keep practicing and riding alot and don't be afraid to go down, its gonna happen!

Mr J Himself
Sep 7th, 2010, 09:56 PM
Throttle control, overall balance, and practice practice practice. Just just lean into a turn and give it all it has...

....a klx 250 isnt the best bike to be turning like a motocross bike either. They are top heavy and porkers

GsxR1000Ryda
Sep 7th, 2010, 10:07 PM
stand up, weigh the out side peg, steer with you're rear and counter steer with the front while keeping your body position forward.

but really, with dirt riding you just gota go out and practice. You're going to drop the bike so maybe get another dirt bike besides you're commuter.

GsxR1000Ryda
Sep 7th, 2010, 10:08 PM
don't be afraid to go down, its gonna happen!

+ 1
Most of the time you get right back up too!

hipmatt
Sep 7th, 2010, 10:09 PM
thank you guys so much ill try it!:D