PDA

View Full Version : Advice On Exhaust & Installation

TOOLROX
Jun 18th, 2009, 01:29 PM
As some of you may know I recently purchased a 2009 Harley Davidson Fat Bob. I want to upgrade the exhaust on my bike to the Vance & Hines Big Radius 2 in 1.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x6-SeE8swxE"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x6-SeE8swxE I like the look and I like the sound of these pipes. The link is a before and after. The only difference is that I want the black pipes instead of the chrome.

What I would like to know is if anybody has other recommendations for pipes and where to get them installed. I appreciate any help I can get with this especially since I am new to all of this. Thanks for you time.

Peace

Oldbiker
Jun 18th, 2009, 01:57 PM
If you want the most power gain through the whole power band nothing can touch the Thunder Hesder 2 into 1 and the comes in black:amerflag:

L2fly
Jun 18th, 2009, 02:43 PM
Call Kelly at Dynges Dyno, he's the best local guy in Visalia, does a lot of work on Harleys, too... since you are talking about changing your exhaust flow, your air/fuel mixture may need to be adjusted, which means you'll need to change your carburation (if Harley's still using carbs?) or change the computerized 'tune' for the fuel injectors, either by re-programming the current 'tune' or installing a power commander (a computerized over-ride box you can buy for more performance).

Anyway, call Kelly, 977-2258, he'll be happy to talk to you about it, tell him you're a friend of mine & on the board... he's on here, too!

Oh, and one more thing, I'd wait for a little bit, get used to your bike as it is before getting too excited about after market stuff... you'd hate to scuff up new parts if you have a little drop, and its probably easier to get used to riding it for a newbie in stock condition, usually new pipes give you a little more hp! So give yourself a month or so before going too crazy on after market stuff! Just my :zz2cents:

TOOLROX