PDA

View Full Version : Help

NightStalkeR1
Apr 8th, 2009, 08:52 PM
This is probably a dumb question but I just wanna be sure cuz I've never done it before.
I wanna flush my radiator and put fresh coolant in my bike before the big heat comes around. My ? is if there is anything I need to know to do this the right way. I'm sure its easy to do but I just figured I'd ask anyway so I can make sure I dont do it wrong.

Thanks in advance

UFO
Apr 8th, 2009, 08:55 PM
This is probably a dumb question but I just wanna be sure cuz I've never done it before.
I wanna flush my radiator and put fresh coolant in my bike before the big heat comes around. My ? is if there is anything I need to know to do this the right way. I'm sure its easy to do but I just figured I'd ask anyway so I can make sure I dont do it wrong.

Thanks in advance

It's hazardous waste and needs to be disposed of properly. That being said, unless you ride in freezing weather or your bike is stored where it could get to freezing, I'd put either Redline Waterwetter or Royal Purple, Purple Ice in it with just water, no coolant. That is the best cooling combo around.

DynoDynge
Apr 8th, 2009, 09:34 PM
It's hazardous waste and needs to be disposed of properly. That being said, unless you ride in freezing weather or your bike is stored where it could get to freezing, I'd put either Redline Waterwetter or Royal Purple, Purple Ice in it with just water, no coolant. That is the best cooling combo around.

I agree, but try to get ahold of some de-ionized water if you are going to mix your own solution. De-ionized water will stop corrosion associated with aluminum/magnesium coming into contact with water.

speedjunkie
Apr 8th, 2009, 09:46 PM
I agree, but try to get ahold of some de-ionized water if you are going to mix your own solution. De-ionized water will stop corrosion associated with aluminum/magnesium coming into contact with water.

thats what the water wetter is for.